Songs: Ten Times

Ok, the idea of this is shamelessly ‘borrowed’ (inspired by) Tom Ewing’s fantastic live-blog (found here) in which he listened to Brian Adams’ ‘Everything I Do’ sixteen times in a row, one for every week it spent at number one!

I have no justifiable reason to ape this concept, least of all for the song(s) I have chosen to repeat-listen to, but what came out of Tom’s blog that I found interesting was the way in which he noticed different parts of the song on each listening. Each time he heard the song, though it was exactly the same recording[1], it was different; or more precisely he heard it differently.

The idea of repetition breeding change is summed up in the name of this blog: ‘The Changing Same’, and it is something I am fascinated by. A repeated sound, by virtue of the fact that it has been repeated is necessarily perceived differently (and thus is different) each time it is heard.

I think this repeated listening technique could be a useful way of unpacking some of the mystery behind the almost obsessive fixation I sometimes get with a particular pop song. You know that thing when you hear a song, and you have a compulsion to listen to it over and over and over again? I’m trying at the moment to compile a list of songs that I have had that experience with, and by listening to them ten times in a row, making comments after each listen, I hope to come to some conclusions as to the particular songs ‘catchiness’.

I should point out that by no means is this going to be a series of songs that I have loved. Indeed, many of the songs are among my least favourite songs of all time. But even in these abominable tunes, I sometimes find a masochistic compulsion to hear them; to have confirmed to me the level of hatred.

So, the rules: each song must be one that I have had some sort of fixation with in the past. I will listen to each song ten times in a row without rest. Comments on the song will be divided up into observations made during each listen. I will then offer some sort of conclusion at the end.


[1] Actually, he does listen to the extended 6 minute version once.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

